Page 1 of 18 12311 ... LastLast

Thread: " Why Kung Fu Won't Work In Combat!! "

Angry " Why Kung Fu Won't Work In Combat!! "

First off i'm so tired of hearing ppl say kung fu does'nt work in combat i wanna just.

!@#$% somebody.

Ok i'm joking about !@#$% somebody.

But i was reading some post when i saw a guy who'd been studiing kung fu for 10yrs say that his school did no sparring and he felt he could'nt use his kung fu in a fight.It took you 10yrs of training to figure something was wrong with your training? Doh!!

I have to admit at one time i was worried about my kung fu in a real fight or even a NHB type tournament.That was yrs ago back before i started training like my life depended on it.Because when the time comes that i need to use my kung fu in a fight my life must be depending on it.I've had many fights over my life. When i was alot younger of course.The area of miami,fl where i live it's a requirement just to walk on the sidewalk.I've never had to use my martial arts to really protect myself i was always good enough without martial arts.

Now although i've never had to really use my martial arts to defend myself i have used them to try them out.I also try to spar semi- full contact with no gloves or padding as much as possiable.Which is usually once or twice a week against my sifu and sihing.I prefer it be against my sihing because it's painful against sifu.

Most ppl when they spar do nothing but kickboxing.So how are you using kung fu when you kickbox? When we spar we're using tiger claws,snakefist strikes,monkey and mantis fist,chin na,etc.........We're trying our techniques as close as possiable to attack level. I'm not saying that no one's getting hurt ,but we try to limit it as much as possiable.Also most ppl just wanna learn kung fu they're not really putting in the time and devotion it takes to be good at fighting.My sifu teaches us for free yet there's still only three of us learning.

" Why"