Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Shaolin belts?

inpho Guest

Shaolin belts?

I was wondering if Shaolin used any type of belt system. In movies and books I've seen Shaolin students wearing different colour uniforms and belts, I assumed they didn't use belts so perhaps these colours indicate secular deciples or something?

Furious Tiger Guest

Shao Lin Belts

I am new to both Kung Fu and this forum, though I have posted before. I do not think that there si a system in place in Shao lIn Kung Fu or Kung Fu in General. This seemd to be and american need to have one self evaluate and conciously see their own progression in the system. Again I am new to Kung Fu and could be totally off base. I believe traditionaly the Sifu monotors the progress of each of his students and then determins whether or not the student is ready to move on to the next level. ;)

Furious Tiger

Shaolindynasty Guest

No belts, thank God

I think in the temple the orange robes are for people who are full monks and grey is for secular disciples. I also think this isn't strongly inforced either. I guess color now can be a matter of preference.

Witness the Dynasty!!!
    New Site! www.shaolindynasty.cjb.net

inpho Guest
    But the pictures of teh secular desciples show them wearing both, only their belts remain the same colour. Also I'm 99% certain the US Shaolin schools use belts.

Chi Hu Guest

Shaolin Belts

I believe traditionally belts were not used in Shaolin kung fu, for time in the art is much more important than so called rank.

"Betray the art, and it will betray you"
    Grand master Simon

Sil Lum Palm Guest
    Shao Lin schools in the USA use sashs mostly for competition purposes such as forms and such. Sash's are a form of international ranking and it is agreed that this is an American thing, but that doesnt mean that it should be looked down on, it just means that it is different than the "old way". Sash's give the modern practitioner a way to measure thier growth in the arts.