Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Chen Chin Na

Chen Chin Na

How do chen stylist practice chin na? Do they do it in a two man routine, do they do it in randori like in judo,is it dune in push hands?

In push hands, in application training, and in two-man routines, like most other tai chi.
    don't know what randori is.

what are the names of the two man routines in chen tai chi?

Howard and Gus.

wiz cool c..

I don't know the Chen style two-man routines, I studied Yang style, and I'm talking from that styles perspective

Chen Zhen,

Why would you answer an inquiry about Chen style Chin na if you are a Yang stylist?

There are no two person routines equivalent to the Yang San Shou routine in Chen style, however, Chen does have five different methods of push hands (tui shou) and most of the chin na is practiced in these drills. Chin na is also practiced in application drills.

Ron Panunto

I just assumed there where two-man routines equivelant of Yang style's in Chen.
    sorry, if I was wrong.

They haven't had a chance to invent a new old two man set yet
    www.systemauk.com
    "Remember it's not a move, it's just a movement" Vasiliev

Originally posted by bob10
    They haven't had a chance to invent a new old two man set yet
    And I guess their long form doesn't exist either.

The Yang two person form that is known as the "88" was created in the late 1930's by Chen Weiming and Dong Yingjie. There is no Chen equivalent, as has been noted above.
    "The heart of the study of boxing is to have natural instinct resemble the dragon" Wang Xiangzai

Kevin.

While the 88 is fairly new, I guess it replaced or supplemented another existing form of 2-man practice.

There are so many different forms of Yang TCC out there and those tend to differ quiet a bit in training methods.

Problem is most people only know a small selection of what an actual style contains.

In Yang's case it is YCF variant in Chen it is CFK variant.

Example: