Page 1 of 10 123 ... LastLast

Thread: To all the Shaolin Do detractors

Exclamation To all the Shaolin Do detractors

I stumbled onto these forums late last night and was surprised by what I have seen here. Surprise turned to anger and resulted in very little sleep for me.

A few of you have chosen to disrespect a man and an art that has been dear to me for 19 years. That cut deeply, very deeply. Your words were needles into my heart. I am trying not to allow your rude behavior reflect on my opinion of your particular schools, but you have insulted my family. I started training with Master Bob Green when I was 10 years old and have always admired the deep respect and love he shows to his teacher, Grandmaster Sin. I have had several family members and members of my church study with us over the years. Shaolin Do has been my life. Congratulations, you have succeeded in insulting my grandmaster, my teacher, my family, my art, and myself.

You say our art is not a true art, that it is made up junk. Funny, your words seem hollow when I think back to my training. When I was going through 3 hour conditioning classes with 50+ lbs strapped to me, hanging upside down doing situps while my teacher stood by with a stick to correct me if needed, your words seem hollow. When I am standing outside in the dark, late at night, practicing Tai Chi, Pau Qua, and Hsing I ... feeling chi course through my body, your words seem hollow. When I have had the misfortune to use my art in real confrontations, your words seem hollow. When I am rolling iron bars up my shins in pure agony for iron body training, your words seem hollow. When I am bouncing off the floor practicing levitational breathing (Hou tien chi), your words seem hollow. When I do basically anything in my art, from animal forms to drunken forms, weapons or conditioning, to pressure point manipulation, your words definitely seem hollow. Your words seem as hollow as the character you have expressed on these boards.