Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Shaolin Monk status

Kungfu boy Guest

Shaolin Monk status

Question for the board.

Has any forgeiner ever been awarded the status of Shaolin Monk?

In japanese arts there are top students, like Shihan rank in some systems but I'm relatively new to the chinese systems.

Respectfully,

Brian

curious Guest
    I do not know what race the guy is, but there is an article in the new issue of Black Belk magazine that talks about how a guy went to train with the Shaolin Monks. I am not sure if he was granted the title of one, however.

Ric Wu Guest
    I know of many non-Chinese Buddhist monks,
    the title means only that you are a practicing Monk of the sect. Not all Shao-lin
    Monks train in the CMA.

Ric Wu

Brad Guest
    I don't believe non-chinese are allowed to be ordained as Shaolin Monks. They can be taken on as deciples though, which just means they studied wushu at Shaolin Temple or from a Shaolin Monk.

Kungfu boy Guest
    Well my thoughts:

Odd, why are chinese allowed to be monks and none others. I think its kinda wrong. If some one puts in the time and has the spirit I think they should become Shaolin. Letting others not join their ranks, then the whole Shaolin community loses.

What is taught at the temple? It's wushu? What kind of wushu, the showy or combative?

Thanks

Brian

Brad Guest
    The monks are all amateur level chinese wushu athletes, but I've heard they spar. Wushu is both flashy and combative.

Didn't Shaolin monks journey over to America to spread Shaolin teachings? There is supposedly an Overseas Headquarters here.

I've heard of something like that being so in Holland also.

I would think if they came to spread Shaolin outside of China they would be willing to give non-Chinese the status of "monk".

Brad since when are Wushu athletes taught to break rocks with only one finger? and since when have Wushu athletes practiced chi kung?