Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: is it just me....

is it just me....

.....or as an instructor, do you get students who have been training a relativly short period, begin to believe they know more than you?

I have had a particular student who contantly tries to push these boundaries with me by being over questioning(to the point of being arrogant) and tries to show me up in class by always coming back with the "well in this situation I would do...." type question/statement

I have been teaching for many years and welcome students views and questions always. However, some times people push this too far. Has anyone else dealt with this kind of situation?

any views would be welcome

chen

Is it just you or did you post this too many times...lol

I'm still a student, but I've had a few in classes that were like that.
    practice wu de

Actually I bored everyone to death. Even Buddhist and Taoist monks fell asleep.....SPJ

Forums are no fun if I can't mess with your head. Or your colon...
    uh-oh, I hope no one quotes me on that....Gene Ching

I'm not Normal.... RD on his crying my b!tch left me thread

is it just me...

or did NP take the words out of my mouth?

as for students who think they know more than an instructor, I've never met one. I have to say thats pretty ignorant and arrogant to think that.

what do you teach, Chen?
    Last edited by CaptinPickAxe; 08-21-2003 at 12:51 PM.

hmmmmm...

This is an interesting topic.

Could you shed some light on a few areas?

-Is he in his late teens or 20's?
    -Is this student around your age?
    -Is he exclusively a student or has he "hung out" with you?
    -Does the student seem to have an issue with his confidence/ego? (keep in mind that many people who have issues with their confidence feel that they need to compensate somewhere).
    -What is your method of teaching (forms, fighting, well rounded)?