Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: RECOMMENDATIONS for MANTIS videos?

Question RECOMMENDATIONS for MANTIS videos?

hi,

my school doesn't teach praying mantis, but i studied a little 7 star praying mantis in the past and would like to do some independent study until i can join a 7 star school in the future. i know i will not be able to do all the proper drills alone, but can anyone recommend any good (and inexpensive) videos and/or books that I can use for 7 star praying mantis?

i browsed jon funk's site. his videos seem thorough. i wouldn't be interested in going through the whole series, but possibly the first four. any comments on those?

thanks for your help!

gilgamesh
    Last edited by gilgamesh; 10-06-2003 at 09:57 AM.

Yes, his videos are good to learn from and he always makes himself available to help his distant learning students.
    May Peace Be With You

VIDEOS

Greeting Sifu Bok Se Teung,

Do you study the Praying Mantis system? If so, what style. Is Praying Mantis system part of curriculum there?
    V/r

Steve M.

shameless plug

I recommend my video.
    Of all MA videos I have seen on kung fu, including mantis it is the only one that shows the traditional training method of fighting for two people.

This includes hand kicking and throwing drills.
    The form taught is actually Eagle Claw, basic form I teach of nearly 30 movements.
    It includes single person as well as two person form.
    I teach it as first form because all moves can be found in Mantis, but traditional Mantis has little for beginners to study, IMHO, as far as forms are concerned.

I posted another thread which includes clips from the video.

Cool!

Tainan,

Please include information on contacting you and price with shameless plug...

Thanks,

Steve Cottrell

You plug yourself quite any how. Nothing like being humble.

Two Views

Tainan,

Everyone is entitled to their opinion and I respect those who differ with me.