Page 1 of 7 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Can a high school wrestler beat the average martial artist?

MonkeySlap Guest

Can a high school wrestler beat the average martial artist?

Every time. This is an O-o-o-o-ld aurgument of mine. They train harder, have tactile confidence, and kids todat have learned about slipping kicks and punches just from watching TV.

I've been saying this for twenty years and I still think it is true. Even if you have 'better' technique, if you do not train at least as hard and as often, the odds are against you.

And in the average fight the wrestler has the advantage.

Any bites?

What you say is true, because the average martial artist is not an athlete, while the average wrestler will be quite athletic, and wrestling is a very rough, demanding, tough sport/art. this and as you said, the competitive mindedness of a wrestler will give them an incredible edge. this isn't going to hold true everytime, but on average I'd say it's a safe bet.

MonkeySlap Guest
    As Vitor said. As CMA folks, it's up to us to train with this kind of fervor. Otherwise we are gonna get stomped by some kid who's wet behind the ears.

totallyfrozen Guest
    I think that any style can be effective BUT it requires the practitioner to "master" it. I don't mean become a recognized Master..I mean to learn the system and make it become second nature. For example:
    I think that Mike Tyson could whip the average Karate or Kung Fu practition found in your average school any day. But I think that Bruce Lee would have killed Mike Tyson in a fight..and I think that Chuck Norris could kill him too.
    Royce Gracie is a grappler...but he has beaten men of nearly every style in the UFC fights.
    Why? Because these men have mastered their styles. A highschool wrestler could beat the average guy on the street...but most likely could not beat Royce Gracie (or Chuck Norris for that matter).