Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: White crane kung fu?

White crane kung fu?

Can someone give me some information on White Crane Kung Fu? I recently moved to a new city, and want to study kung fu. I was looking for a style such as Hung Gar or Choy Li Fut, but the only thing I found here is a school teaching White Crane and a few Wing Chun schools.

The White Crane school is taught or owned by Master Ruhu Zhu, but I don't know a lot about White Crane and in fact, did not realize Crane had its' own system outside of 5 animals (what can I say...I'm very new to kung fu obviously).

Is White Crane a northern, or southern style? Is it based more on hand techniques or does it use an equal amount of kicks and foot maneuvers?

Any info. (especially if any you have studied it directly) would be very helpful.

My Grandmaster used to teach White Crane and Invinsible Crane. I asked him one day what the difference was, and he said that White Crane is more like Tai Chi, and Invinsible Crane was more like Long Fist. Dr. Yang, Jwing-Ming teaches White Crane, you could go to his website at http://www.ymaa.com and see if that will help any. Or, you can try to back order the oct/nov/dec (forget which) issue of Inside Kung Fu. My Grandmaster did an article on Crane. There is another system called Fukian Crane also. I believe that Crane is a northern style emphasising kicks and long arm techniques (someone correct me if I got my facts screwed up). Hope that helps
    Quote Originally Posted by bawang View Post
    like that old japanese zen monk that grabs white woman student titties to awaken them to zen, i grab titties of kung fu people to awaken them to truth.
    Quote Originally Posted by Sal Canzonieri View Post
    You can discuss discrepancies and so on in people's posts without ripping them apart. So easy to do sitting behind a computer screen anonymously, but in person I'm sure you'd be very different, unless you're a total misanthrope without any friends.