Thread: on the lighter side...

on the lighter side...

Ok... here's a kids sparring vid that some might find entertaining.

http://www.geocities.com/northernman...s_sparring.zip

or

http://www.geocities.com/northernmantis

[EDIT... sorry if you have problems to download this vid... it's on a free geocities site which has a 4MB/hr download limit. The vid may not be available if you try to download within an hour of the person prior to you.]

This was taken last weekend, and it's my first attempt at using Microsoft Movie Maker. The program was set to autogenerate a movie of sports highlights from about 10 minutes of footage. (Most of the crying and shoe tying was deleted )

Right-click the 1st link and save the zip archive. Or go to the 2nd link and get the file from that page. Inside is a Windows wmv file. You might need the current Windows Media Player 9 to view the movie.

These kids(8 and 10 years old) have just started sparring this year. Between baseball practice and other activities, they have maybe 4 months of weekend practice at sparring. Prior to that, they have been training applications drills, forms, and hitting a punching bag.

In this clip, hopefully you can see some things that they have been working on.... gauging distance, testing the opponent, closing in on the opponent, using combinations, jumping chang tui, roundhouse kick, one step three punches, fung tung chui, uppercut, steal heart punch, pek chui.

If there's any interest, I can can try to post individual sequences that might show more clearly the sparring action.

regards,
    N.
    Last edited by -N-; 06-26-2004 at 04:12 PM.

Smile Hi Norman,

I can't download it. Something about server error. Is there something else I could try. Thanks

Thanks for sharing.

Warm regards

Robert
    Contraria Sunt Complementa

對敵交手歌訣

凡立勢不可站定。凡交手須是要走。千着萬着﹐走為上着﹐進為高着﹐閃賺騰挪為
    妙着。

CCK TCPM in Yellowknife

TJPM Forum

I couldn't get it to download