Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Non combat cross training

Non combat cross training

Do any of you cross-train or participate in any sports or activities, that are not combat related, that you believe contributes to your martial art training?

I know most sports and such will help in general fitness, but aside from that anything more specific.

Like;

I snowboard, wakeboard and ride motocross. All three of these really give my adductor muscles a work out.

I also work in construction, and swinging a hammer is a very good workout for stickfighting.
    Sapere aude, Justin.

The map is not the Terrain.

"Wheather you believe you can, or you believe you can't...You're right." - Henry Ford

I was a gymnast in HS and University which has helped greatly with a number of aspects of my skill training, esp in BJJ.

I also practice yoga and ROSS (though the latter is probably combat related).

I used to surf a lot, which was great for flow sensitivity and upper body endurance, but time is short these days.
    "Once you reject experience, and begin looking for the mysterious, then you are caught!" - Krishnamurti
    "We are all one" - Genki Sudo
    "We are eternal, all this pain is an illusion" - Tool, Parabol/Parabola
    "Bro, you f***ed up a long time ago" - Kurt Osiander

WC Academy BJJ/MMA Academy Surviving Violent Crime TCM Info
    Don't like my posts? Challenge me!

I lift weights, but I will admit not solely for my WC, but also for vanity purposes, lol, I hated being skinny. I find larger forearms and added strength has improved everything about my WC, although my weight training regimen didn't start till after the skill was obtained. Also I visualize allot on my WC technique and situations that can possible happen. I read once in a success book that the mind does not know the difference between something vividly imagined and something that happened for real. So far it’s worked for me.

Sihing

Re: Non combat cross training