Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: 2 man drills and non-contact training

**Little*Dragon** Guest

2 man drills and non-contact training

Hi all

I am new to the CMA and to WC. In my school, they have a non-contact policy for training in two man drills. I can see this to a point...to avoid injured students,ect. But,I was drilling with one girl tonite and she kept making a point of saying "non-contact" even when I would touch her lightly with my strikes. :confused: Thankful most other students I drilled with weren't like this and some had a little "gusto" in their attacks. :D

I found this to be most distracting for trying to do the drills. When I would do the drills, I would have to concentrate so much on not touching her, that my techniques didnt even look like attacks. :(

I mean ...if you are going to take martial arts, isn't a LITTLE contact part of it? It seem as ridiculous as wanting to swim ...but not wanting to get your hair wet!

How are you supposed to learn good technique when every time you apply it, you pull your punches so much that they don't look like punches!

I suppose it was maybe a bad match of students...myself and this girl tonite. I just find myself wondering what someone like this is doing in a martial art class.

(rant off)
    :D

Little Dragon

Dragonhand Guest
    This is a dance stuido.If you want to be able to defend yourself,you must have contact.How are you going to know if your training works if you don't feel the pressure of a fight.If your Wing Chun school doesn't take you up thru the ranks.Take up boxing.There you will learn to defend yourself.IMHO

old jong Guest
    I know what you feel! I suggest you practice control and precision with that kind of students and get more intense with the more "open" ones!
    You can benefit with both kinds! ;)

You don't want to see my critial points!...

hunt1 Guest

non contact