Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: class structure

**Little*Dragon** Guest

class structure

Hi

I am new to Wing Chun. I was wondering how other people's Wing Chun classes are structured in terms of conditioning and skills.

In my class, we seem to do A LOT of conditioning. Kicking bags, push-ups,ect. My classes are 1.5 hours long...at least 45 minutes of it is pure conditioning. In the skills part, we are usually partnered up and do things like: A will attack B with a round punch. B will defend with a Pak Sau and counter with a kick and 5 punches.

Is this typical of most Wing Chun schools? I was under the impression that there was a lot of forms training in CMA. I have only had four classes so far. I have seen the Sil Lim Tao once.

Just curious.

BTW the conditioning is killing me! Holy cow these guys are in good shape!
    :eek:

Little Dragon

Martial Joe Guest
    <BLOCKQUOTE><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR> we seem to do A LOT of conditioning. Kicking bags, push-ups, [/quote]

In my school we dont so that.Push ups isnt wing chun.Lots of schools train like yours do and stress working out, but my sifu focuses on wing chun and not conditioning the body.He told me if i want to get in shape to do it on my own time because his school is for wing chun and only wing chun...

IXIJoe KaveyIXI
    I am Sharky's main man...

Sharky Guest
    how many times a week do you train? if it's only once or twice then that workout is the only work out some people are getting.

"Spectacular immaculate raps massacre cats like dracula bats, I'm snappin yer back cos I'm attackin the wack, duckin yer rapid attack, **** packin a gat, the mechanic of rap'll give you panic attacks with his Satanical raps." - Guess who.

azwingchun Guest

Martial Joe