Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: SNT w/weights?

Question SNT w/weights?

I'm sure this isn't an original idea. For all I know it is common practice in WC. I am only a beginner.

What is the advisibility of using weights while doing SNT? Wrist weights that would'nt interfere with hand movements. What would be the benefits vs. the negative consequences, if any?

Thank You.

The only thing I can say is, IMHO, the 'pressure' the weights create is different than the 'pressure' that is experienced in chi sau, so I don't believe you are really gaining anything. General fitness and that kind of weight training is the best in that regard. In relation to technique, the lop-sau, poon-sau and other chi sau related drills (or, to say just chi sau) should prove more than enough to develop technique specific endurance.
    Also, IMO, the forms are not nessisarily meant for strength development, rather they are more for learning basic positions, coordination, and technical development. Having weights could ingrain a bad habit of being tense when you want to be *relaxed* or *soft*.
    Sapere aude, Justin.

The map is not the Terrain.

"Wheather you believe you can, or you believe you can't...You're right." - Henry Ford

I think you would want to use wrist weights, or the old-style Kung fu rings around the forearms. That would make some movements difficult (most notably the "wipe-off's" at the end of the form), but less so I think than holding little dumbells or similar.

You don't want to go too hard and fast due to the possibility of hyperextension injuries. I don't think you'd want to do it exclusively, either.

Personally, I doubt that this would do much to improve you technique, and IMO there are better ways to improve muscular strength and endurance.