Thread: Translation Pak Mei Article

Translation Pak Mei Article

Hi,

I found this article on Pak Mei breathing, but I can't read it Can anyone please help me with the translation?

Thanks, Regards, Lau
    Last edited by Lau; 03-11-2005 at 12:24 AM.

I see it is too small to read. I just uploaded it to the web, that should be better to read :
    http://home.tiscali.nl/simlalau/pakmeituntu.jpg

Regards, Lau

I'm not a professional translator or Pak Mei practitioner, so apologies for any mistakes. Perhaps you can see the problems with the translated text and substitute correct theroy/terms.

Translation:
    “tun-tu” (swallow-spit) is a method in traditional Chinese martial arts (kung fu). But within Pak Mei circles, some people think that thrusting the hand out is “tu” (spit), retracting the hand is “tun” (swallow); also some people think that arching the back forward is “tu”, expanding the abdomen is “tun”. Therefore, when there are differences on the ideas of “tun-tu”, there are differences in practice.

In “Siu Pai” Bak Mei’s training methods, “tun-tu” is considered medium level kung fu, how is the “tun-tu” understanding and application, the depth or shallowness of the physical expression [can’t follow the thread of the last half of the paragraph].

The idea of “tun” is to receive and conserve, “tu” is the opposite of “tun”, and is the external release. “tun-tu” actually indicates tendon, bone, chi (breath), muscle multi-layered movement. “Siu Pai” Bak Mei fist arts’ “tun-tu” practice is divided into “whole body” and “sectioned” “tun-tu”.

Whole body “tun-tu” indicates the bridge hands (kiu sau), head, chest, back, waist, abdomen, hip, legs and essence, chi, spirit connected motion and linkage.