Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: What Style to chose? Leung Ting any good?

What Style to chose? Leung Ting any good?

Hello,

I just moved to NYC from Australia where I studied various martial arts. I have made my decision and want to learn proper Kung Fu. What I would love is to train two different styles, one focusing on body control and great forms/weapons (internal/external?) and the other concentrating on usability and effectiveness in a real combat situation (linear/circular? emperor's fist? jet kine do?). What is your opinion?

Which styles and schools in the New York area can you recommend? What about the Leung Ting System Wing Tsun school in Manhattan? Is the style worth recommending? What about the Bow Law school? My priority is not a fancy school with shiny uniforms but to study hard and learn the real deal! What's the secret tip for NYC?

It would be great if you guys could give a newbie some expert advice as to what the best choice of style is, for each of the areas mentioned.

Appreciate your help!!
    Marco
    Edit/Delete Message

Have you ever heard of Complete Wing Chun?
    http://www.amazon.com/exec/obidos/tg...books&n=507846

I recommend a little research. Find out about the different lineages of Wing Chun and the families inside those lineages.

Is one school better than another? Sure. But that's what I think. Personally, I think you're lucky to be in NYC, as I'm in the Moy Yat family. But, again...that's MY opinion and it's not work squat.