Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Simon's Occasional China Blog

Post Simon's Occasional China Blog

Hey there. This is the start of my (undoubtedly sporatic) efforts to set up a Blog about my experiences in China with specific attention to martial arts. You will undoubtedly hear an occasional ESL related diatribe, joke or story though... If Gene thinks that because this will occasionally stray off-topic than I will happily move it. Otherwise proceed with foreknowlege that I am an ESL teacher and my daily life involves a lot of ESL things.

Anyways. Just to bring people up to speed.

I left Canada on June 18, 2005. I arrived in Beijing on June 20, 2005. I never left the airport until I embarked the outbound flight for Taiyuan that night. I arrived in Taiyuan very early in the morning June 21, 2005 and remained there for about three days. I had a very lovely hotel suite and really didn't leave the hotel without accompanyment. I was terribly jet lagged and a little bit nervous about launching myself from the safety and security of suburban Ontario into the vastness of China. I found the whole city to be absolutely confusing and was slightly concerned that I would get lost if I strayed too far from the hotel.

I arrived in Lishi on or about June 24, 2005. At that time my hopes of moving into my new home were dashed as it was remarkably filthy and the school wanted to clean it thoroughly before I moved in.

On either June 25 or 26 I moved into my new appartment. It was still pretty dirty but nowhere near unliveable. By this time my jet lag was pretty much entirely past and I was acclimatized to the 12 hour change in time.