twktcc Guest

Moxibustion ?

Help !!! What is this ? :)
    I am TCMly challenged !
    Thanks !
    Dave

Remember to be self- centered but not selfish

woliveri Guest
    Moxibustion or Moxa Sticks contain an herb (forget the name). It is lit like a cigar and applied to a proper point. It is used to tonify areas of depletion or lack of excess (forgive me I'm a hobbyist not a doctor of Chinese Med). As far as I know you would not want to use it in the case of vacuity of that particular organ. For example, in the case of Liver Yin vacuity you would not want to apply Moxibustion to a liver channel as it would make the condition worse. In that case you would probably look for the cause of the Liver Yin vacuity (blockage or Stomach and Spleen not functioning properly) and fix the problem there. Again, anyone please correct and expand on this.

Life and Teaching of the Masters of the Far East
    By Baird T. Spalding

rubber legs Guest

moxibustion

What is smokeless moxibustion and joss sticks?

Moxa and Moxibustion

Just recentrly started to learn about this. What are your experiences with it?

First time I brought it home my mum though I was taking drugs. Took a while to convince her otherwise.

Hmm

Well its u7sed for warming and Tonifying in Chinese Medicine and go stimulate movement of qi.
    I use it everyday on Zu san-li.
    " Don't confuse yourself with someone who has something to say " - The Fall

" I do not like your tone/ It has ephemeral whingeing aspects " - The Fall

" There are twelve people in the world/ The rest are paste " - Mark E Smith

Moxibustion

I've been using moxi rolls for strained tendons, muscles, knee pains, etc. for two years. I was wondering how the healing works with these, is it the heat or the herbs? Has anyone else used it? Thanks for any input.

Warren

You shouldn't moxibust. You can go blind, and it depletes your chi.

What is that? Is that that candle thing they put in your ears? I heard that's bad.