Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Taiji Ball

The Willow Sword Guest

TAI-CHI (BALL) TRAINING.

I FIRST LEARNED ABOUT TAICHI BALL TRAINING in one of Dr Yang-Jwing Ming's books. i have been doing the ball training on my own for a few years and i find it to be VERY usefull in push hands and also sticky hands as well. in this months issue of T'ai Chi magazine i stumbled on an article about this training.to my suprise i was doing it exactly like the master was in that article. so i guess i was on the right track,,what i was wondering from all of you is if you do this type of training and what have your experiences been with it: basically you are taking a medicine ball that is about 10 lbs or more and holding it in your hands and then doing your push hand sets or just rolling the ball as you do your tai-chi move ments,,this is a great external exercise but as i have discovered it is
    purely an INTERNAL ONE mostly...
    the only difference is that that I have been holding the ball in my forearms and adhereing to the ball as i do my push hand movements and my taichi move ments. (it is challenging) but very beneficial,in my opinion,
    WHAT ARE YOU ALLS THOUGHTS ON THIS SUBJECT?
    many respects,, willow sword

Whatever you think i am or want me to be,,, i am.

Rory Guest

dont respond hes a shaolin do supporter

dont respond he takes shaolin do

count Guest

Just my personel opinion but...

I have always felt the the use of the ruler and the use of the ball are not realistic training because they only allow for one specific size and in application the size of the ball is ALWAYS different. Curious what others who use this kind of training think about this though. :) +

Count

Kabooom.com

Chi Kung International

E

Kumkuat Guest
    Well, it would be good if you can move correctly. If you just roll the ball around with your arms, then you're not really getting any internal training at all.

RAF Guest