Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Taiji Self-Study

Taiji Self-Study

Hello! I wanted to ask an opinion question; I've been doing Thai kickboxing for over ten years and now I'm about 29 years old and looking to do something just for the art of it all versus competition.

I'm going to be starting a new job as well so time is a bit tight (plus looking to marry in about a year) so I thought maybe I'd do some self-study of Taiji. I think that with my fighting background, it might be possible and then I would maybe find a teacher in a few years.

So my question(s) are:

a) What are your thoughts on self-study?
    b) What do you think would be the best course for self-study (if any).
    c) Is this a good idea? http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...MESE%3AIT&rd=1
    or this:
    http://tinyurl.com/ohl39

I've heard of Earle Montaigue but opinions are all over the map. I've never heard of the other two guys.

Any opinions would be greatly appreciated!

RX

Quote Originally Posted by RenXu
    Hello! I wanted to ask an opinion question; I've been doing Thai kickboxing for over ten years and now I'm about 29 years old and looking to do something just for the art of it all versus competition.

I'm going to be starting a new job as well so time is a bit tight (plus looking to marry in about a year) so I thought maybe I'd do some self-study of Taiji. I think that with my fighting background, it might be possible and then I would maybe find a teacher in a few years.

So my question(s) are:

b) What do you think would be the best course for self-study (if any).
    c) Is this a good idea? http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...MESE%3AIT&rd=1
    or this:
    http://tinyurl.com/ohl39

I've heard of Earle Montaigue but opinions are all over the map. I've never heard of the other two guys.

Any opinions would be greatly appreciated!

RX