Page 1 of 8 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Can meditation be dangerous (demons)?!

Can meditation be dangerous (demons)?!

Welcome.
    I know I am new on this forum but PLEASE take my post seriously. I have some unpleasant experiences with deep meditation in kung-fu. I don't want to write on public too much but I wonder if any of you have met with demons during meditation? If you do have similar experiences please contact me or give reasonable answer.

Lechu

I dun think it's demons; maybe you kinda fallen asleep and experienced something called "scissors"; which is basically when you're half asleep but you your eyes remember everything you and it saves the image, you'll see around you plus see thing(s) moving, it's common for people who don't get enough sleep - in your case i would believe that you fell asleep brefly. Most logical way I can answer it.

Quote Originally Posted by bel
    If you do have similar experiences please contact me or give reasonable answer.
    I think you should seek advice from a qualified meditation teacher with a good reputation. My answer is just one meditator to another.

In general one thing they emphasize is that there are all kinds of illusions that the mind can create. Even if they are real demons (I won't take a stand on whether demons or real or not) the same advice applies as with all hostile energies or beings you may encounter: develop loving-kindness. Loving kindness and compassion meditation is probably the most safe form there is, and it is found in pretty much all buddist systems of meditation in one form or another. It is the #1 recommended response to demons.