Thread: Diet goals

Diet goals

To start off, I am not concerned with losing or gaining weight. I have no tournaments in the near future to make weight so this is just in general. What do I want from the foods I eat? 1 overall health 2 energy for training 3 recovery from workouts.

my plan

every bit of bread should be whole grain. Eat some 'good carbs' (rice, whole grains, oats) paired with quality protein for 3 large meals a day. Also with these various fruits and vegetables. multiple snacks (granola, cereal, ect.) between these meals, to keep blood sugar even and energy levels well. whey protein shake after workout for recovery. Tons of water, way more than 8 cups every day. Coffee and tea (vices!) only sweetend things (artifically) is sugar in coffee and possibly something post workout.
    milk (for the slow digesting protein) before sleep at night. Is anyone else doing similar things? Any suggestions, ways to improve?
    Bless you

I'm not an expert in this area but I've always been concerned about my diet.

I just finished reading Ross Enamait's book "Never Gymless" http://www.rosstraining.com/

It's all about body weight exercises and conditioning. But there is a whole section dedicated to nutrition. The main thing that he trys to stress in this section is the amount of chemicals in our food supply. And the adverse and still unknown affects these chemicals have on our bodies.

He talks about the preservatives in many foods. The growth hormones and antibiotics given to cattle and chickens so they will grow quicker and will not get sick in un-sanitary conditions.

He recommends eating more organic food. Food that is processed without pesticides or chemical fertilizers.

Of course, making the switch over to only organic food is not easy and is a little pricey.

So I've started with breakfast. I used to eat a bowl of cold cereal ever day and maybe an egg. I've switched over to eating hot oatmeal with some crushed walnuts, raisins and some cinamon.