Thread: Anyone use kempo gloves?

Anyone use kempo gloves?

Hi all,

I'm a Sports Massage Therapist and just getting back into my martial arts training. I knocked a finger in the last session and decided I really can't take any more risks - I need to save my hands and wrists. I've been looking around at different gloves that would give me good wrist support with hand and finger protection, but also allows me hold and do more technical moves. Had a look at these kempo gloves and wondered if anyone had tried anything similar as they seem to look like they'd give the protection I'm after (plus I can pretend I'm Bruce Lee in Enter the Dragon )?

http://www.bytomic.com/detail.asp?urn=1618

What do you think?
    --- time is never wasted when your wasted all the time ---

South FL. Which is not to be confused with any part of the USA
    I tried them out as 'the' glove in my school about 3.5 years ago.

I purchased them from Title Boxing.

We tore them apart, literally, within 3 training sessions.

Maybe other suppliers are better than Title's but thier's compared well with every other kenpo style glove I'd ever seen; visually at least.

They were just ok for gripping but not the best and really aren't that great for shock absorption at all.
    "George never did wake up. And, even all that talking didn't make death any easier...at least not for us. Maybe, in the end, all you can really hope for is that your last thought is a nice one...even if it's just about the taste of a nice cold beer."

"If you find the right balance between desperation and fear you can make people believe anything"

"Is enlightenment even possible? Or, did I drive by it like a missed exit?"

It's simpler than you think.

I could be completely wrong"

too much single stitching and too many small pieces put together on kempo gloves. they will fall apart fast with regular use unless the are double or triple stitched and only made with 2 pieces of leather.