Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: A young Yu Hai performs his mantis form

A young Yu Hai performs his mantis form

Greetings,

Since Yu Hai originated this form, it is really nice to see him perform it in his prime. He has very strong intention and his form is more martial than those who merely copied his moves in later years. I remember sitting through Nan Bei Shaolin twice just to see him perform this form.

Found on Youtube, enjoy:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5d2Fk...elated&search=

mickey

Mickey, can you tell me more about Yu Hai. I have enjoyed this version of Mantis for a long time now. His martial intent is evident.
    I am still a student practicing - Wang Jie Long

"Don`t Taze Me Bro"

Yu Hai

Yu Hai starred in the Shaolin Temple movies with Jet Li and Yu Cheng Hui. Great Mantis Guy (TJMH i think) as I really like the way he moves. In the Shaolin Temple movie, when the monks are doing that group training sequence, he is doing Zhai Yao Yi Lu in the background at a walk through pace. I guess the director said, "alright we just need some extra footage, so just do what forms you like". I think he also did some chen with Hong Jun Sheng but I may be mistaken.

Looks very Wushu to me.... care to comment?
    KUNG FU USA
    www.eightstepkungfu.com
    Teaching traditional Ba Bu Tang Lang (Eight Step Praying Mantis)
    Jin Gon Tzu Li Gung (Medical) Qigong
    Wu style Taiji Chuan

Teacher always told his students, "You need to have Wude, patient, tolerance, humble, ..." When he died, his last words to his students was, "Remember that the true meaning of TCMA is fierce, poison, and kill."

Greetings,

yu shan: