Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Away from the temple :(

Away from the temple :(

Hey my name is Taylor and I'm fairly new to the praying mantis system. I took about a month of lessons down in tampa last summer and I got hooked. I love Kung Fu and if I had a choice I would be practicing and studying 2-3 times a day like I did in the summer time. Unfortunately there isn't any Kung Fu temples around my home town and I only get to take lessons when I go to tampa. I hate not being able to be with other students and my sifu. I still want to learn so what should I do? I don't think I can teach myself here. Are book and video lessons any good?

I would say videos are better than books because if you don't have a feel for the style quite yet the transitions can be hard to figure out. Just make sure they're reliable and done correctly.

Thanks. But how can I know for sure I am doing the form right? I'm use to other people watching and telling me if my foot work is wrong or my back needs to be straight. It's kind of hard to imitate these video teacher's who make everything look so simple.

First off you aren't going to find any training videos on Wah Lum. Isn't there anything in your area?

How often do you get down to Tampa? That's a long way to go. Gainsville is a little closer and there's a Wah Lum school there.

Wherever you go you should work out a deal to get as much as you can once or twice a month and work it on your own in between.

So, if you're in Tampa for the summer you can train there and when you're back home make a trip once or twice a month to the Sifu in Gainsville.

That would be better than doing all your learning from video tape.
    When seconds count the cops are only minutes away!

Quote Originally Posted by wenshu View Post
    Sorry, sometimes I forget you guys have that special secret internal sauce where people throw themselves and you don't have to do anything except collect tuition.