Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Old Shaolin Traditions

Cool Old Shaolin Traditions

I have been a researcher of Shaolin for a year or so now and one thing is for sure:

everyone has their own version of shaolin traditions.

If you were to buy books and books(as I have) and search many different websites(me as well) there will still be many variations on what is shaolin and what is not. Many lineages. True shaolin gong fu. Fake shaolin gong fu.

It tends to get exhausting.

Unfortunately, for all my research there have been questions that are unanswered.(even though the answers may be real/fake/traditional/legend/etc...)

My current questions are the following:

1) Dragon and Tiger brands on the forearms. Real? Fake? Currently not practiced?

2)The dots you would normally see on the foreheads of fictional shaolin monks: where do they come from and for what reason are they put there to begin with?

3)What styles were actually studied at the temples? Five animals? Bak Mei? Dog Fist? Bagua?

4)Legend of Bak Mei as a traitor: True?

5)How many different temples have there been? Names? Locations?

6)Any info on the Order of Shaolin in Oregon? (anyone trained there/spoke with "monks")

Any and all assistance will be appreciated. Thanks!

WF

Most of the information you seek is here on this forum. You can use the search button and find it all out there. We've all been here for a really long time, and most of these have been discussed. As for answers to your questions... Please keep up your hard work in your search. As for #6 - there aren't any monks there as far as I know...from Real Shaolin that is. My suggestion is to do your research on this forum on that subject also. Come up with your own opinions, and you'll have the answers you seek!

~Jason
    館術國勇威 Wei Yong Martial Arts Association
    戰挑的權霸統傳 The Challenge for Traditional Supremacy
    http://www.weiyongkungfu.com