Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Chasing techniques of pok kik

Chasing techniques of pok kik

Hi
    I've been training for over fifteen years in a system that uses pok kik as it's core
    training.
    I can't find anything that resembles the continuous advancing side stance, it's movement is similar to choy lee fut as it was developed by a CLF master and was around Malaysia in the 60's or 70's, especially Ipoh where my sifu is from.
    The style of pok kik has no forms just techniques specializing in kup choi, pow choi.
    The interesting difference is yum, yueng, fon and fan choi chasing are done with the straight fist and with the thumb on top, not swinging and any number of combinations can be done when you master the side stance or double shifting stance.
    It was used alot in full contact and i still use it when sparring.
    Has anybody got any films of this as i'm thinking of doing something because i think it should be shown, or has anybody seen any as my sifu is the only person in U.K doing this

Thanks

do you realize that "pok kik" / pak yihk is just "fighting" or "full contact fighting" in Cantonese?
    Chan Tai San Book at https://www.createspace.com/4891253

Quote Originally Posted by taai gihk yahn View Post
    well, like LKFMDC - he's a genuine Kung Fu Hero™
    Quote Originally Posted by Taixuquan99 View Post
    As much as I get annoyed when it gets derailed by the array of strange angry people that hover around him like moths, his good posts are some of my favorites.
    Quote Originally Posted by Kellen Bassette View Post
    I think he goes into a cave to meditate and recharge his chi...and bite the heads off of bats, of course....

hi friend,

i guess we are cousins in this art though i don't practice it anymore

yum, yeung, fong, fan
    pin, pao, kup
    gwa, chou, sau

leung yee ma, bin fa mo ku'ng

these are the first 3 sequence of fists taught by my teacher with the associated footwork of leung yee ma.