Page 1 of 30 12311 ... LastLast

Thread: ??? about Patriotism in the U.S.A

??? about Patriotism in the U.S.A

okay this is a slightly random topic but since 'lock bumping' came up i thought i might get away with this, if im out of line please tell me

basically im a classics student in the UK and im currently looking at how romanization of ancient europe is VERY similar to americanization of the modern western world. for example a simple thing like jeans, we wear them in Britain now, but they are in fact an american thing if i was truly 'british'(whatever that is) id be wearing trousers

I was just wondering if any of you chaps and chapesses from the USA find your martial arts philosophy and values conflict with your american philosophy and values. for example i find the idea of young children swearing themselves to the American flag every day absolutely absurd! isnt that just brainwashing. and issues like the death penalty, foreign policy and so on, I find these values clash strongly with my martial arts ethic but i wanted to see what the American view on this was if ts at all different.

Please not this is not a dig at america its simply a comparison of values

thanks
    self discipline is the key element of self respect, and self respect is the key element of courage

ill just pick one aspect.

the death sentence. I dont see how being involved in martial arts would empede our desire for a death sentence for those deserving.

The death sentence has been around long before structured martial arts, every great general who had fought and bled in old melee wars has had to give a death sentence at least once.

if anything i could see that praticing martial arts, striving for virtue, and protecting the weak would help a man walk a path that could help him more clearly see who is truly deserving of death.

some dogs must be put down to keep from infecting the rest of the pack with rabies.

no offense at all taken and i mean none.