Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Shamanism, demonism, and some satanic imagery in Southern Arts

Shamanism, demonism, and some satanic imagery in Southern Arts

I'm kind of new to the Southern Chinese Martial Arts scene, but Grandmaster Andy recently introduced some sets from Southern Praying Mantis and Southern Tiger. He had us do some incense burning rituals, bow to some idols, and other ceremonial practices.

I stood aloof and didn't participate because it's against my Christian beliefs. Does anyone else here have these same issues? I'm not saying they're Satanic in nature, but they do seem somewhat like what we Westerners, and Eastern Easterners would associate with cultic devil worship.

I need some advice.
    I stand on the Mesa and look down at the vastness of my world and i realize how truly small you all are in it. This has been my greatest enlightenment. None of you are important, and you will never truly be free individuals until you surrender to my instruction.

Quote Originally Posted by Lokhopkuen View Post
    Being the idiot I am...

BTW, why are there so many swatstikas in Southern Chinese emblems? I didn't think the Nazis were in China. I know they were in Japan, but certainly not China. Does anyone know a book that might explain this to me?
    I stand on the Mesa and look down at the vastness of my world and i realize how truly small you all are in it. This has been my greatest enlightenment. None of you are important, and you will never truly be free individuals until you surrender to my instruction.

Quote Originally Posted by Lokhopkuen View Post
    Being the idiot I am...

If you're uncomfortable bowing to statues and burning incense then don't do it. Have a sensible conversation with your teacher about it and I'm sure it'll be OK. He's unlikely to insist that you do it (indeed, it would be strange and concerning if he did). It's not an intrinsic thing for southern arts, it's just a chinese thing.
    As for Swastikas