Thread: Degrees of Black Sash?

Degrees of Black Sash?

Hello all,

I was just wondering if there are degrees of black sash just like in other systems of martial arts. I know that traditional kung fu has no belt or ranking system. Years of experience is what was accounted for. I am still new to mantis kung fu so I wanted to throw this out there. Please let me know what you all think.

Eastern State Mental Hospital Psych Ward, Room 12
    yes there are levels (or degrees) of black sash. In kung fu most schools call it level though instead of degree. For example, I'm a 2nd level black sash. The only kung fu school that I know that calls it degree is Sin The' and they wear the Japanese Gi instead of the traditional chinese uniform and wear a belt instead of the sash.

That is a question that has more than one answer. My school uses no Sash or belt levels at all. I have been in schools that mimic the Judo belt ranking system, and I have been in schools that only have three sash levels, Novice, intermediate and advanced.

I think for the most part, the majority of schools do use Sash levels or degrees now but there are still quite a few who do not. It is more of an orginazation or instructors choice. There is no one standarized ranking system that we all follow.

Danny

My Mantis borther's school, he is a studnet of Jonh Funk they have 4 levels of black belt, or 4 levels of instructor. The 4th being system graduate. My borther Sifu Josh recently passed his third level instructor test.

In our CLF school my teacher also uses four levels of instructor, the 4th as graduate/Sifu and a 5th being the certification as master. I'm am gearing up to take my 2nd level test in the nest few weeks and my brother is about to take his third level. My SIfu has authorized two 5th levels in his teaching career.
    Robert James
    5th Gen. Bak Hsing Kwoon
    bakhsingkwoon@gmail.com
    http://www.youtube.com/user/SatoriScience