Thread: What to look for in an Acupuncture / TCM School?

What to look for in an Acupuncture / TCM School?

I have been considering going to an Acupuncture School for a couple of years, and I was wondering what kind of criteria I should look for in a school. I have researched for schools based on accreditation and other Western/Academic standards, but what other elements in the curriculum should I be looking for? The one school I was seriously considering was the Academy of Oriental Medicine at Austin, in Austin, TX. Is this a good example of a school that one should consider?

The core curriculum at every school located in States with Government Regulation or Licensure, which includes Texas, is nationally established by the Accreditation Commission for Acupuncture and Oriental Medicine (ACAOM). As such, both schools in Austin will offer the basic courses of study required by ACAOM to acquire and maintain their accreditation. The value of receiving an education from an accredited acupuncture school should not be taken lightly. Accreditation signifies that students may be assured that the school has been assessed and accepted by ACAOM, and that completion of such a program of study and examination will qualify the student to sit for the Licensure Exam required for professional practice by the Texas State Board of Acupuncture Examiners, established and overseen by the Texas State Board of Medical Examiners.

Aside from the core curriculum offered at both schools, each school will also offer certain elective courses which reflect specialized areas of study and practice among its respective Faculty Professors. These courses generally vary from one school to another everywhere, depending on the specialty experience and study of the Faculty Members.