Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Technical Question for Grabbing Scenarios

Technical Question for Grabbing Scenarios

Hello Everyone,

I have a techincal question I'd appreciate some advice on. This is the scenario..."if someone grabbed you"...what would you do...assuming you want to escape without striking the person.

I've been practicing TCKF for over 20 years (focusing in Lung Ying / Bak Mei - a lot of chin-na). My first instinct is NOT to let someone grab me by evading, or counter-grabbing (or using the grab against them but pulling / pushing & then striking, etc. - I want to "touch them" I don't want the otherwise). Dragoners love to reach out and grab someone & never let them go. And yes, I've studied Judo...but not sport / combative Jiu-Jitsu.

I've also been teaching Nonviolent Crisis Intervention for over 10 years. This institution teaches that ANY grab can be countered using the following three principles; look for the weak point, use leverage, and use momentum (also a psychological advantage as they have grabbed you & commited and you still have options, + you can use an element of distraction / surprise).

So...given a simplistic scenario...someone grabs your wrist - you shift your weight, go against the weak-point (thumb connection), use leverage & momentum & pull out of it. I know beyond a doubt this "trick" works against the strongest and heaviest people.

My long-winded question to those who grapple / fight in reality (combative sports / law-enforcement types), is, are these universal principles work in all "grabbing" / locking situations? Is this simplistic formula brilliantly simplistic or just simplistic?

If you respond, please elaborate - don't just say simplistic because that won't help me very much.

Thank you!

Ao Qin

Quote Originally Posted by Ao Qin View Post