Thread: Pan Nam

Pan Nam

i Have been interested in his style of wing chun for a long time now, as it seems so different to the wing chun of Ip Man

does anybody know of anyone who studies this style of wc?

i know of Eddie Chong and Felix Leong, but i was wondering if there is anyone that learnt all of their kung fu from him - not someone who already had a very sound base in wc then went to him afterwards for extensive training

also does anybody have any experience with this lineage? how do you feel it compliments the more popular lineages you see today?

respectfully

David

Try here , they teach Hung Gar and Pan Nam Wing Chun

http://nyfatkeungusa.org/
    Last edited by zuti car; 07-23-2008 at 08:28 AM.

also does anybody have any experience with this lineage? how do you feel it compliments the more popular lineages you see today?
    I studied PN WC under Felix Leong.

Such an open ended question makes it difficult to answer.

There are lots of differences in the PN style. Because of that, I'm not sure whether you would say it compliments other WC styles. The stance is different - like a little shoulder width horse stance. All the forms are quite different in choreography. There is no luk/poon sao.

Essentially because of those differences, you have to assess why you do something one way and not another way.

I see a lot of stuff associated with PN WC that I've never seen before. I'm not sure whether that's giving the correct impression of the style.

http://www.fatshan-wingchun.co.uk/demos2.htm

I never heard of different stages of chi sao. Or any repetitive circling like in those vids. AFAIK, PN chi sao is just grab each others arms and start fighting.

PN At Yiu - just grab each others arms and try throw each other.

Quote Originally Posted by Edmund View Post
    I studied PN WC under Felix Leong.

Such an open ended question makes it difficult to answer.