Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: iron ball juggling.

Talking iron ball juggling.

currently i have been juggling 3 nine pound iron balls for several months... so far the tricks i got down are shower, cascade, mills mess, cross-armed, and every other off the head. juggling in itself improves brain function, reflex, hand-eye co-ordination, mental clairity, peace of mind... it is a form of mediation, a cardio-vascular exercise, and relieves stress. juggling was once an olympic sport, yet in the 1936 berlin games, hitler hacked it because the prominent contenders for the gold were jewish... it's been out ever since.
    now taking a perfect exercise of 3 ball juggling(3 is that magical little number) and adding the 27 extra pounds(3 nine pounders) and wa-la, an instant classic. now you can juggle them in stances, while circle walking, in zazen... iron ball juggling truly will enhance any style of martial arts... not to mention the effects on your hands, grip, forearms, shoulders, upper back, lower back, perinium, chest, blah, blah... and then, to rival the likes of classics like the tendon exchange, iron ball juggling can be refined to any of the 7 breaths to create a most wonderous breathing exercises... priceless.

please share the comments. and here's a pic of me juggling them sitting on one leg... although when this pick was taken i was still higher in the stance then i am now... like my babyred fro yo? peace.

KICK A$$.

I've always encouraged juggling as a way to enhance proprioception and reflexes. Adding the weight is a wonderful idea! As well as the benefits you mentioned, sensitivity, structure, and power are trainable too!

If you know someone who can juggle those, you can do 6-ball partner juggling! Start close, and increase the distance proportional to comfort. Imagine having to deal not only with gravity, but with a strongly vectored force on the incoming. Also, launching the balls across the gap might even allow for fa jin training.