Thread: Hernia & Kung FU

Hernia & Kung FU

so last sunday while stretching i felt a pull...it's been giving me pain all week and today i went to the doc who confirmed it was a hernia

i have an appointment with the surgeon on the 27th...

i just recently signed a contract with the Wah Lum school here in in Orlando, i've yet to begin, (im supposed to start on the 2nd)..obviously this will have to be pushed back until i am 100%

anyways...has anyone had any experiences with hernias and continuing martial arts? this isn't something that is going to hold me back from doing it is it?

thanks in advance for the input

namaste

For whoso comes amongst many shall one day find that no one man is by so far the mightiest of all.

There are dozens of types of hernia. You mean a herniated disc/spinal hernia?

I suffered from a recurring one very badly. I didn't want surgery and it gave me trouble until I started lifting weights seriously. Haven't had any trouble since then... longest time free since the initial trauma. If I do get a slight twinge (from being over enthusiastic in deadlifts or something) it goes again really quickly.

As for MA: well, you can't practise when your disc is herniated, so yes, it affects your training!
    its safe to say that I train some martial arts. Im not that good really, but most people really suck, so I feel ok about that - Sunfist

Sometime blog on training esp in Japan

see your doctor, do what is suggested.
    Kung Fu is good for you.

You will be out for six weeks following the surgery. They will patch up the rip in your muscle with a piece of surgical steel mesh. After that you can resume normal training.

You'll get over it.