Thread: building Chi

Hybrid View

building Chi

I am still fairly new to martial arts. I started for (what I feel to be) typical reasons. Mostly exercise and flexibility. After being in for a short period, I started looking at the more philisophical side of the arts. I am interested in learning how to cultivate Chi and how to learn to use it. I live in the middle of no where and have been looking for a teacher, but have yet to find one. Any suggestions on websites, books or other tools to at least help me get started?

I'm sure some will disagree with me.....

Everybody taps into chi in some fashion, they just don't always see/term it in that way. Anything that inspires you, juices you up, gives you a "rush". Learn what does that for you, recognize it, feel the way it flows. Visualize it- colorful auras, sparkles... then use that visualization to attempt to infuse that "rush" into your exercises. There are lots of simple exercises out there to use as frameworks, but it's all about the visualization and intent.

Jack Straw said
    I am still fairly new to martial arts. I started for (what I feel to be) typical reasons. Mostly exercise and flexibility. After being in for a short period, I started looking at the more philisophical side of the arts. I am interested in learning how to cultivate Chi and how to learn to use it. I live in the middle of no where and have been looking for a teacher, but have yet to find one. Any suggestions on websites, books or other tools to at least help me get started?
    People's past experiences colour how they perceive qi.
    Qi is multi-dimensional and goes beyong the 'daoyin' routines/exercises to nuture and build it. The root (san bao-three treasures) are jing, qi and shen.

jing-what we get from our parents. your present vitality comes from them and includes heredity.
    qi; generally breath. it also includes your present state of health, age and nutrititive status