Page 1 of 14 12311 ... LastLast

Thread: Wing Chun sparring

Wing Chun sparring

Hello All!

This is my first post here but I have been reading this forum for some time. I have been studying Wing Chun for 3 years now. I have a question that I hope the more experienced people will be able to answer. I have spent a fair amount of time watching videos on youtube and everytime I see two Wing chun people sparring it tends to look like two people just swinging at each other. Where are all the techniques? I see tons of chain punching but no fook sao, or tan, or kwan........ Are these people just untrained and are unable to use their Wing Chun the way it was designed or do most technigues fall apart under pressure? So I guess I'm asking why most Wing chun when pressure tested looks like just constant chain punching. Maybe I'm not seeing the right videos though.

I'm looking foward to everyone's thoughts on this. Can anyone post videos where someone is using good Wing Chun under a high pressure situation?

Thanks to all!

U tube again!

The U tube is not an accurate sample of reality. Suggest making the effort and visiting a top flight school when there is "sparring" going on. So called chain punching when done right is a developmental tool -NOT to be overdone in sparring.
    Lots of bad wing chun on u tube. I am sure you will get noise and more opinions.

joy chaudhuri.

Talking

theres ALOT of real bad wing chun

lets face it the majority of wc practioners cant apply there style

but with that said neither can the majority of other martial artists as well most people do train in a unrealistic manner, most people do not train hard enough and most peoples martial training will fly out the window in an actual fight

being that we live in a modern society where martial arts arent used for survival as they were in the old days its not suprising there is alack of quality practioners