Thread: What forms are in your Shaolin regimen now?

Hybrid View

What forms are in your Shaolin regimen now?

Here are the Shaolin forms that I am currently practicing on a regular basis (at least once a week, hopefully more). Since this is the Shaolin forum, I'm restricting my list to Shaolin forms. Currently I'm only doing Songshan Shaolin forms.

baduanjin
    xiaohongquan
    dahongquan
    qixingquan
    changhu xinyimen
    taizu changquan
    tongbi luohan
    qixing tanglang
    qiang (Taguo version)
    dao (Taguo version)

I've shown you mine. Let me see yours.
    Gene Ching
    Publisher www.KungFuMagazine.com
    Author of Shaolin Trips
    Support our forum by getting your gear at MartialArtSmart

I started practicing a mizong quan form I learned several years ago. I don't know how it is Shaolin related (if at all) but a Taiwanese teacher used to refer to it as Shaolin when seeing us practice. I'm not sure what it's called, but it looks very similiar to some versions of the praying mantis form "xiao hu yan".

The curriculum I teach from white to black is:

Level 1
    Wu Bu Quan - five step (Shifu Yan Ming version)
    Xiao Lohan Quan - small arhat

Level 2
    Xiao Hong Quan - small frame
    Da Hong Quan - large frame
    Chang Quan - long fist
    Ba Duan Jin - 8 section brocade

Level 3
    Xiao Pao Quan - small cannon
    Da Pao Quan - big cannon
    Wu Xing Ba Fa - 5 animal, 8 method
    Yi Jin Jing - muscle/tendon changes
    Qi Xing Quan - seven star

Right now I teach and practice mostly these Shaolin sets:

Ba Dun Jin
    Liu He Gong
    Chan Yuan Gong and Chan Yuan Quan
    Luohan 13 Gong and Luohan 13 Quan
    Wubu Quan
    Xiao Lian Huan Quan
    Dan Shi
    Jingang Bashi
    Wuxing LianHuan Quan
    Taizu Chang Quan 32 postures
    Xiao Hong Quan (Lao and standard versions)
    Xiao Hong quan Er Lu
    Da Hong Quan yi Lu
    Lao Hong Quan 1-4 Lu
    Luohan 18 Shou 1-8 Lu
    Rou Quan Yi Lu
    Ru Quan Er Lu
    Rou Quan 108 postures