Page 1 of 8 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Kung Fu, USSD and new gym

Question Kung Fu, USSD and new gym

Hi all, newbie here.

Just this last Sat. we went to a free intro at USSD. We liked it. We then attended 2 classes and really liked that. We realize it was not kung fu but more Shaolin Kempo? Or a variation? Anyway, we were ready to join but then were hit with the fee -- $300 for the both of us!!!

So that ended that. Also, the club seemed really cool, super nice people and great instructor. But the minute we talked price it seemed the mask came off and the instructor was not so nice. We ended up leaving feeling like we avoided some kind of cult.

What I really liked about this class was that it had a good workout and was fun, so much so that I hardly noticed an hour go by.

We are in Denver. We live in N. Denver but I work downtown and my husband works in central Denver (around Colfax/Colo. Blvd.).

Some questions: Anyone tried Ho's Chinese Martial Arts? Or White Dragon? Anyone know of any other Denver central spots we could try? That won't cost an arm and a leg? Jeez, $300 for 2 is a bit much, no?

Thanks in advance - also tell me if I should be posting elsewhere.

Wow, not one reply but 20 people looking at it. Must not be in Denver.

On another topic, is USSD some kind of cult or what?

Yes you got out of franchised outfit with questionable business practice.

Here's a long thread about them which includes details on various instructors that have be charged with sexual misconducts.

http://www.kungfumagazine.com/forum/...ead.php?t=2074

Its a long read.

Oh I am not in Denver, so I can't recomend a school, but I will definitely recommend NOT going with USSD.
    Master of Shaolin I-Ching Bu Ti, GunGoPow and I Hung Wei Lo styles.

I am seeking sparring partner. Any level. Looking for blondes or redhead. 5'2" to 5'9". Between 115-135 weight class. Females between 17-30 only need apply. Will extensively work on grappling.