Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Qi? Or no?....

Qi? Or no?....

Hello all, I know there are a lot of knowledgable people on both sides of the Qi debate. Im more on the Qi side, but just cuz I have little knowledge about the scientific side. I have some experiences that I hope could be broken down so I can explain them to the non believing students as well as the believing students in an intelligent and practical way. I hope someone can help

1. My first day of class, my teacher done a demonstration. He told me put both hands out in front of me in a horse stance, and asked me to resist as he pushed down on my hands. Thats all he said. He pushed for a few seconds then stopped and stepped back. He started waving his hands, and the best way I can describe it, it felt like steam coming off a pot of boiling water coming from my Dantien and the Ming Men towards my teachers Dantien... Then he asked me to put my hands back up, it was a little harder to resist, but I could, the 3rd time I could barely resist at all. Then he made a waving motion towards my dantien and tried again, and I could resist easily. There was no explanations and no talking about it, so I cant see how it was the power of suggestion or hypnotism. I was hoping someone would have a scientific explanation as far as whats going on... My teacher explained he stole my Qi and gave it back, if he did not give it back, my immune system would crash.

2. How does sinking stop the opponent? In my school, we are taught to sink our bodys and our Qi straight down, so when an opponnet pushes forward they cannot move you. Your only sinking your body weight straight down scientifically, but when they push forward, even if there 2-3 times your size, they cannot move you, even if they can move someone 2-3 times your bodywieght. In Qi, it says your using the Earth to push back at them, and you Qi is penetrating the Earth. How does that work in science/physics?