Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: qi building stance

qi building stance

http://www.qigonghealth.co.uk/media/_14_1226504885.jpg

Hi all. Just need some info from people with more experience. I have been adding qi gung to my kung fu practice for about 2 yrs now. Have done a few courses here in Vancouver. I know two qi gung sets and practice them most every day. I have never felt anything while doing qi gung. No burning in my hands, energy moving in the body. Only thing I feel is the obvious shaking from holding stances and the sense of discipline that comes from daily practice. After talking to a taiji person this weekend he informed me all you need is the basic qi building stance position. What is your opinion's?

Hi frankiemantis,

Standing meditation is an excellent start for chi building.

Please check out my thread "Dailogue(sic): A Public Service Announcement" currently on page 2 in the Kung Fu Forum for a little info on standing meditation.

I would suggest that you find someone to teach you the correct posture and train it in front of them for a while

Books with insights: Warriors of Stillness Volume I and II by Diepersloot

mickey

begin only with sitting meditation and find a proper teacher. qigong is not a form.

Honorary African American
    grandmaster instructor of Wombat Combat The Lost Art of Anal Destruction™®LLC .
    Senior Business Director at TEAM ASSHAMMER consulting services ™®LLC

Standing qigong or zhan zhuang is essential to "building qi".

I feel like you should be doing Zhan Zhuang for a bit before you ever start doing moving sets. But that's just my opinion.

Basic Internal Training

Quote Originally Posted by bawang View Post
    begin only with sitting meditation and find a proper teacher. qigong is not a form.
    Wow. And I thought you were only showing up on this thread to cause trouble.

Listen to the Iron Anus. There is depth in what he says.

jd