Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Wing Chun & Kali

Wing Chun & Kali

This question is for Wing Chun practitioners who cross train or have experience in Kali (namely Pekiti Tirsia). I have been recently training in WC and I am interested in Kali. Through my research I have learned that a lot of people promote or comment that Kali complements WC. Is this because of the connection between Bruce Lee & Dan Inosanto? Or are the concepts and principles similar?

Yes, WC and Kali go very well together.
    I have some experience in PT Kali and Inosanto Kali.
    They blend very well.
    Psalms 144:1
    Praise be my Lord my Rock,
    He trains my hands for war, my fingers for battle !

Thank you Sanjuro ronin for your response.

Can you please elaborate on how the 2 styles compliment each other.
    From my little understanding of Kali there are alot of circular movement. How does this style mesh with WC's straight line and economy of movement?

Please keep in mind that i do not intend to insult the style of Kali. This is just an honest question for the purpose of personal learning.

Also since I am training in WC, this question is coming from a WC mindset.

I enjoy them together because of how the two hands work together for strikes and disarms - and I guess that's what I find similar to Wing Chun. I find my 'Wing Chun hands' adapt well to the (little) Escrima I know. I haven't found myself concerned with circular vs. linear or any of that - and it has been an non-issue in my learning.

A long-time Escrima player (who is also trained in Celtic stickfighting) told me he thought stickfighting was perhaps like Wing Chun: it's stream-lined, simple and effective...not a lot to learn. (The river is narrow, but it can be deep).

Hope this helps,
    CTK
    “An ounce of action is worth a ton of theory.” – Friedrich Engels