Page 1 of 20 12311 ... LastLast

Thread: Wing Chun Lineage with Chin Na and Throw

Wing Chun Lineage with Chin Na and Throw

I am new to Wing Chun, and I read there are Chin Na and Throws in Wing Chun. But also I have read that Chin Na and Throws doesn't exist in Wing Chun.

Could people please advice me if Wing Chun have Chin Na and Throws? Also if it does exist, then which lineage will this be in? Thanks

Quote Originally Posted by kowloonboy View Post
    Could people please advice me if Wing Chun have Chin Na and Throws? Also if it does exist, then which lineage will this be in? Thanks
    I think most Wing Chun that has some sort of emphasis on weaponry, especially the pole, will have chin na (promounced 'cum la' in Cantonese) The beginners exercise of Lapsau introduces this method of training.

This may narrow your search somewhat though as there aren't that many schools that teach pole plays to beginners fme
    Ti Fei
    詠春國術

You probably can work throws into your using of VT. Throws and Chin Na on the grand scheme of things are relatively simple techniques to learn. The difficulty in my opinion is positioning yourself to work the techniques on your opponent. IMO I dont think there are throws or chin na intrinsic to VT because in trying to execute them the practitioner has to position his or her body facing away from the opponent in many cases. For example to perform a hip throw, a common throw in most martial arts, you have to turn your body away from the opponent.
    Last edited by trubblman; 05-23-2011 at 10:04 AM.

THere is foot work for a few throws in the 3rd form then in the 2nd form the part with the 3 arm breaks could also be chin na type finger/wrist manipulations if you can make locks and throws work in your chi sau/ gore sau then use them just stick to the theory be simple and direct

I believe Gary lam uses a bit of Chin na within his syllabus of Wing Chun finger pointing to the moon Peace