Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Grab: How and Why

Grab: How and Why

When I studied Aikido we were taught to grab thumb to pinky using the palm to grip because the fingers are the weak point in a grab.

In Eagle Claw we make our fingers strong and grab with them, this way a grab is also a pressure point attack.

How does your style/you grab? Why?

Blog Entries
    It's very slippery to dig your fingers into your opponent's muscle when your opponent sweats. It's better to take advantage on your opponent's bone structure. If you use your right hand to grab your left arm, you will find the best way to grab.
    Last edited by YouKnowWho; 01-07-2012 at 01:46 PM.

The hand muscles that are made strong are palm and thumb. Fingers have no muscle in them. they are skin, fat,ligature and bone. There is no muscle to make fingers stronger. Grip is made stronger through the hand muscles.

repetition and compression can condition the practitioner to not be affected so readily by the neuralgia associated with bashing your fingers onto something, having them bent etc.

gripping exercises strengthen the palm and thumb muscle.

illustration:
    Kung Fu is good for you.

Quote Originally Posted by David Jamieson View Post
    The hand muscles that are made strong are palm and thumb. Fingers have no muscle in them. they are skin, fat,ligature and bone. There is no muscle to make fingers stronger. Grip is made stronger through the hand muscles.

repetition and compression can condition the practitioner to not be affected so readily by the neuralgia associated with bashing your fingers onto something, having them bent etc.

gripping exercises strengthen the palm and thumb muscle.

illustration:
    and forearm

Quote Originally Posted by YouKnowWho View Post
    If you use your right hand to grab your left arm, you will find the best way to grab.
    If you have strong fingers and aren't squeamish.

I've heard the key is in tendon strength. You're only as strong as the weakest link.