Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Flexibility

herring Guest

Flexibility

I am certainly the most inflexible person on earth. I have been doing Tai Chi(Yang) for almost 2 years and Northern Shaolin Kung Fu for about a year. i have seen some gains in flexibility but, my back is like a board and my hips do not like to roll into stretches(like touching the toes; I can touch em, but my hips point away from my toes). Any good stretching routines for all around flexibility(especially in the hips)?

unclaimed effort Guest
    Welcome to the forum! Watch out for Ralek, and to answer your question. Just keep stretching, don't force too much, just slowly keep going at it and your flexibility will keep improving. Once your flexibility gets to the maximum state, though, keep stretching to maintain it otherwise say goodbye to hitting the full splits. Happened to me, luckily I don't need to be that flexible in my art.

When you win a fight, who do you think feels worse, you or your opponent?

namkuen Guest

Flexibility

Hello, Herring! The key to flexibility is suppleness within the sinews (muscles, tendons, & joints). Although stretching exercises can teach the muscles how to extend and contract, they do not teach the muscles how to be supple and pliant.

In my opinion, the best exercise for this suppleness and pliancy is sitting meditation. If you sit in quarter lotus or half lotus positions and gently and lightly concentrate your breath down into your abdomen, you will achieve this suppleness that is required for true flexibility.