Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Don't Use Muscle

Don't Use Muscle

"Don't use muscle" was one of those mantras at the first WC school I studied in. It was always a bit puzzling to me because without muscle, we couldn't even hold our heads up let alone do kung fu. I came to understand that it means "use structure to generate power".

Is "don't use muscle" something that's been highly emphasized for others as well?

Quote Originally Posted by WingChunABQ View Post
    "Don't use muscle" was one of those mantras at the first WC school I studied in. It was always a bit puzzling to me because without muscle, we couldn't even hold our heads up let alone do kung fu. I came to understand that it means "use structure to generate power".

Is "don't use muscle" something that's been highly emphasized for others as well?
    It is impossible NOT to use muscle.
    What those things mean is to NOT OVERLY rely on brute strength.
    Correct MA technique is when you apply strength at the right time of application of technique.
    Psalms 144:1
    Praise be my Lord my Rock,
    He trains my hands for war, my fingers for battle !

Going to disagree a small bit sanjuro.

2 ways to do things: Internal, which has the prime focus of power generation from the skeleton and tendons. External prime focus of power generation from muscles like triceps etc.

Muscle is always involved however what is meant is not to focus on using muscle or strength but rather focus on using your skeleton and tendons.

For example in tennis the goal is to use your body, turning and twisting of your hips and waist to hit the ball. Your arm should be like a whip. It transmits the power generated by the body it does not generate the power itself.

Wing chun is the same. arm is the whip power comes from proper use of the body.

Most untrained people however generate power from contraction, tension of their muscles first.