Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: The "Shaolin Guard"

Question The "Shaolin Guard"

Hey everyone, before I ask anything I guess I should give a general idea of my background. I'm no master of kung fu. Been training for a bit more than 7 years with my primary art being Ving Tsun, although my sifu does teach me more than Ving Tsun, it is my primary art that I understand the most.

One of the arts I train is a Shaolin system which from what I know, is similar to the combination of all the empty hand forms in the basic core curriculum in the Jing Mo Kung fu styles (i think it's called sets of Tan Tui?). I've been training this for about 3 years and just recently was wondering about something that some people here may be able to help me with.

With these systems/styles of kung fu that primarily use stances like sei ping ma and gong ji ma (sp?), what is the "guard stance" or "ready stance." Personally, I've cross trained in boxing and notice that I adapt something like that if I were to be told to use only things from my Shaolin. But that's not really a guard from the style (or maybe it is, who knows lol). For those of you who train arts like Hung Gar and Choy Lee Fut, how do you face an opponent and what kind of guard do you use?
    Everybody wants to go to heaven but nobody wants to die...

ugh, in retrospect, i should probably have posted this in the Shaolin Section

Hey there,

All of the stances are not just stances but 'steps' that is to say methods of taking a step. As such they are dynamic and rarely held for any length of time past the momentary technique. Note that moving into a stance gives you momentum, but when you are already in a stance you have none. So the technique should be executed while moving into the step and not statically from it.