Thread: Want to be an athlete by profession?

Want to be an athlete by profession?

That is to make it one's career like to participate in international tournaments or even the Olympic Games. Some say sure. Some say definitely not. So what does one will put into the training?

Regards,

KC
    Hong Kong

Great question Steve! Life of a professional athlete or Olympic athlete is a finely double edged sword. Most of these people are extremely driven, competitive, and if all goes well rich and wrapped in glory!

There is a price...a physical one, when all the years of hard training, pushing your body beyond normal limits. The average pro football player in the USA only lives to age 55, many suffer through bad knees and head traumas. Look at those weight lifters and gymnasts, who also suffer many joint and spinal maladies for years. In fact I have an uncle who was a professional ballet dancer, who's body is now racked with constant pain and cannot stand for extended periods of time.

There is also a large emotional price, with failure or how to adapt to life outside athletics, when your short career is up...everything you have identified yourself with is gone. Who are you then? Do you live your past? Do yo have a plan for the future.

It is easy to say for those that could not make it, to deny the temptations of being a professional athlete. I used to kid myself, having played level junior college football, that I may even consider not playing pro football (even if I was good enough, which I was NOT) do to the great risks of long term physical harm. I did suffer through several concussions, pinched nerves throughout my back and neck, and wonder if it has affected me as it is.

Nothing would be more amazing than to be an Olympic Gold Medalist for your country!!!! Just watching some of these athletes stirs emotions from within.
    Last edited by Hebrew Hammer; 08-06-2012 at 08:33 AM.