Thread: Taguo Xiao Hong Quan Question

Taguo Xiao Hong Quan Question

Hello everyone! I'm pretty new to this forum and have a wee question. I'm training in Xiao Hong Quan with an ex-coach from the Tagou Wushuguan who teaches where I am. I have a question about the purpose of a technique in this form, which differs from the version I've seen monks doing. When turning after zhuan shen banshou (I think that's what it's called) and shang bu tui zhang, where some videos I've seen do a kind of cover or a press with two palms down over their raised left knee after a sweep (before the kick and palm slap leading into xie xing), the Tagou version does a thrusting motion with both palms directly forward at around waist level. Just wondering why Tagou does this, or if someone can give me ideas as to why, as I'm just a beginner. Is there anyone training in Tagou now, or who has been, who can help me out?
    Last edited by Sima Rong; 09-06-2012 at 07:47 PM.

Sorry, the thread title should have been 'Tagou Xiao Hong Quan Question'. Oh well, can't fix it now.

I'm not familiar with the TaGou variations of the forms, but generally, they do not seem to be keeping the forms in their original frames. BTW, this is not a difference in the forms, but in the purpose of the maneuvers. Let me describe this. Every maneuver in Chinese martial arts can have an infinite number of purposes, say applications. For example, this movement, Push Both palms Over the Lifted Knee, can be used for:

1. Supporting a knee attack: this way, in order to increase the destructive power of the knee attack, both hands may grab the opponent and move him down, while the knee strikes up. Here you move the grabbing palms down, to just above your knee. This purpose would result in a maneuver like what we see in Shi De Yang's, Shi Yong Zhi's, and most other monks' performance of Xiao Hong Quan. See minute 21:06 of this video: Shaolin Small Flood (Xiao Hong) Kung fu (A) [by Shi De Yang]