Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: iron hand training

iron hand training

i am interested to hear different methods of iron hand training people on this board have done. i recently started training in iron hand and it is different from what i have seen before . very interesting ,but just different.

for example, my training began with a dynamic tension routine followed by a deep breathing exercise. next came holding a push up position on my fist while doing special breathing,then transferring all the weight on to one fist while the other is in the air vertically. then walking while in the fisted push up position in a crawl type of manner.

when i asked about using a bag he told me later when your hands get harder and that they use sand in the bad, there is one in his place it is really hard. and showed me a method of using some very thin rubber puzzle shaped mats to paste on the wall and strike. then learned two more dynamic tension arm training methods.

i had a small bag made from a previous teacher that didn't work out. this bag is much smaller then the usual iron hand bags i have seen. and has green beans and chinese medicine in it. when i showed my teacher he said it is ok to use for now and showed me some drills to do on it. when i asked him about using medicine on the hands. it is not necessary but can be used, and that qi will protect it. he also mentioned something very interesting. he said you can use hot water and salt,to rinse your hands after, and don't towel dry them. and also mentioned something about the medicine and having money for it. meaning in shaolin they might not have much money to construct bags with medicine in them.

Quote Originally Posted by wiz cool c View Post
    i am interested to hear different methods of iron hand training people on this board have done. i recently started training in iron hand and it is different from what i have seen before . very interesting ,but just different.